Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Why speeding could have huge consequences for you

Reckless driving in Virginia is defined as traveling in excess of 20 mph over the posted speed limit or traveling in excess of 80 mph regardless of the posted speed limit.  This means if you travel 81 mph, even if the posted speed limit is 70 mph, you could be convicted of a Class 1 Misdemeanor.  That is in the same category as a DUI in Virginia. 

If you are convicted of reckless driving, the penalty could be up to a $2,500 fine and up to 1 year in jail.  Further, you could have your license suspended for up to 6 months.  These are serious consequences.  Even more serious, is if you kill someone while driving recklessly, you could be guilty of a Class 6 Felony, depending on your individual circumstances (such as driving on a suspended or revoked license). 

While traveling 11 mph over the speed limit may not seem like a big deal, you should be aware of the possible consequences for those actions.  If you have been charged with reckless driving, I sincerely encourage you to speak with an attorney as soon as possible.